Nebraska Voting Guide

Registration Deadlines

Voter Registration Deadlines: Postmarked by the 3rd Friday before the election, or received in-person by 6 p.m. on the 2nd Friday before the election.

What Type of ID Do I Need to Register?

Nebraska’s voter registration form asks for your Nebraska driver’s license number, or the last four digits of your Social Security Number.

What Type of ID Do I Need to Vote?

Two classes of Nebraska voters have to show ID before voting: first-time voters who registered by mail or a registration drive whose driver’s license numbers or the last four digits of their Social Security numbers were not verified by the state; and those who did not include a copy of an eligible ID with the mailed or registration drive application. These voters will need to either submit a copy of one of the acceptable IDs in advance, show ID while voting in person, or mail a copy with their absentee ballot. Those voters must present both a current and valid photo identification, and current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document dated within 60 days of the Election Date that shows the voter’s name and address as provided on the registration application.

Where Do I Vote?

Voters must cast their ballots in the correct precinct. Sometimes there are multiple precincts in one polling place, so confirm your precinct ahead of time and get in the correct line!

How Can I Vote?

By Mail Anyone may apply for early voting, no reason needs to be given. Students may apply by contacting their county clerk or election commissioner, or by printing the online early voting request form and mailing it or faxing it to the election commissioner. The form is available at Early In Person Beginning 30 days before Election Day, you may apply and vote an early voting ballot in person at your County Election Office. The last day to vote an early voting ballot at the County Election Office is the Monday before Election Day. On Election Day at the Polls The polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the Central Time Zone and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the Mountain Time Zone.

This Guide was prepared by FELN staff who are not licensed to practice law in Nebraska and FELN intends that the information contained herein is used only as a general guide. This document should not be used as a substitute for consultation with a licensed Nebraska legal professional.

Last updated June 2016